Bookworm Santa!

The Magic Attic

I know I already did a post for this but I figured I'd do it again so I can post what I gave and received. The person I got for Bookworm Santa was Amanda @ Letters Inside Out. I sent her:


I received Birthmarked (Birthmarked #1) & Prized (Birthmarked #2) by Caragh M. O'Brien.

I had so much fun with this and I can't wait to "meet" my Secret Santa!!


Merry Christmas From My Family To Yours

Merry Christmas to those who celebrate it! And Happy Holiday's to everyone else! Santa was very good to me this year. I have some pictures from my gifts from today. Yeah, I'm kind of on the ball today. Haha!

This year I participated in My Bookworm Santa hosted by Book Briefs and The Magic Attic. I just have to say I had so much fun picking out books for my wishlist and picking the books for my blogger. The books I received were:
Prized (Birthmarked #2) by Caragh O'Brien

I was so excited to get these books because they've been on my wishlist since they came out. THANK YOU BOOKWORM SANTA! CAN'T WAIT TO MEET YOU AND STARTED READING MY NEW BOOKS!

Next are the presents I got from my family and BFF:
From my sister
Front covers of the games

From my parents

From my BFF


New Year's Eve Giveaway

Hey all! I've decided to hold a giveaway in celebration of the new year. What am I giving away, you ask? That is a very excellent question. I will be giving away four signed book cover posters to three lucky winners. Why only three winners? Because 1st prize gets a signed Elemental Reality AND Battle Scars poster. What do you have to do to win? Follow me and fill out the form below. I'll be accepting responses from now until New Year's Day at 11:59pm EST. Winners will be announced on January 2nd. Don't forget to share this with others who might be interested in winning. Good luck to everyone!


Waiting on Wednesday: Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

My Pick:

Author: Cynthia Hand
Reading Level: 13 and Up
Release Date: January 17th, 2012
Available: Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Summary (from goodreads): For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.


Review: Havoc (Deviants #2)

Havoc (Deviants #2) by Jeff Sampson
Website: http://www.jeffsampsonbooks.com
Paperback ARC, 352 pages (Source: Once Upon a Twilight Book Tours)
Expected publication: January 24th 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 006199278X (ISBN13: 9780061992780)

Emily Webb thought life would return to normal after the death of the man who attacked her and her fellow “Deviants.” Or as normal as it could be, after discovering that she has nighttime superpowers . . . and she’s a werewolf. But when Emily awakes one night to find an otherworldy Shadowman watching her, she knows the danger has only just begun.

So Emily and her pack-mates set out to find the people who made them what they are, and why. But as they get closer to the truth, they realize they aren’t the only ones in town with special powers: The most popular girls in school might just have a secret of their own–and they might just have it out for Emily.
With shadowy beings stalking them, a mysterious company doing all it can to keep the truth hidden, and the secrecy of her new identity in jeopardy, life threatens to spiral out of control for Emily. Soon these dangers will come together in one terrifying confrontation that may force her to make the toughest choice of her life . . . so far.

First, I’d like to thank Once Upon a Twilight for choosing me to be a part of the Havoc book review tour. I have to admit, I was nervous when I received the email stating I was accepted for the tour because I never read Vesper (Deviants #1) and I wasn’t sure how confused I was going to be. Luckily, I wasn’t that confused. There were a few names here or there that I didn’t know but that was mainly it.

I really enjoyed Jeff’s writing and surprisingly for not reading the first book, I couldn’t put it down. There was a new twist at every turn. When Emily and her pack went to the company that created them to find out what they were, I was literally holding my breath as they rounded every corner and walked through every door. The Shadowmen scared the crap out of me! I probably shouldn’t have read the book at night, right before I went to bed because I think I saw one lurking in the corner.  And I really wasn’t expecting *******, *********, and ******** ***** to become one. The cheerleaders were a pain in the butt! Of course they’d be the ones who were ***********.

The ending was crazy! I just couldn’t believe that happened. I’m not sure I’m going to be able to wait for the third book to come out. I’m giving Havoc 5 stars and will definitely be getting myself a copy of Vesper  to see how it all started.

The Anfractuous Bookaholic: Tempted on Tuesdays (1)

The Anfractuous Bookaholic: Tempted on Tuesdays (1): Tempted on Tuesdays, is a weekly meme hosted by me where you can post on your blog about any book out there that has ever Tempted you, has ...


Review: The Poison Diaries (The Poison Diaries #1)

The Poison Diaries (The Poison Diaries #1) by Maryrose Wood, The Duchess of Northumberland

Paperback, 304 pages

Published April 8th 2011 by HarperCollins Canada / Other (first published May 27th 2010)

ISBN: 0061802387 (ISBN13: 9780061802386)


In the right dose, everything is a poison. Even love . . .

Jessamine Luxton has lived all her sixteen years in an isolated cottage near Alnwick Castle, with little company apart from the plants in her garden. Her father, Thomas, a feared and respected apothecary, has taught her much about the incredible powers of plants: that even the most innocent-looking weed can cure — or kill.

When Jessamine begins to fall in love with a mysterious boy who claims to communicate with plants, she is drawn into the dangerous world of the poison garden in a way she never could have imagined . . .


The Poison Diaries was a different read than I’m used to. Yes, it’s YA but I normally read modern or Dystopian YA. I was a bit weary when I started reading because I had to accustom myself to the writing style and even the character speech. Once that ball started rolling, it didn’t stop. 

Jessamine Luxton is the 16-year-old daughter of the well-known apothecary, Thomas Luxton. Right off the bat, Thomas was my least favorite character. He seemed rude and very unfather-like. It’s a surprise Jessamine grew up as well as she did, all things considering (You’ll have to read to find out. No spoilers here). When the story first begins, Jessamine informs us that her father is out of town for a medical emergency. This got me thinking about what he did when she was too young to care for herself. Did he take her with him? Maybe he did and I just forgot about reading that. Anyway, when talks of her father’s poison garden started, my interest was piqued, especially with its synopsis.

Jessamine wasn’t a very strong character in the beginning. Always doing what her father told her. Being a good girl. That is until Weed enters the picture. He was a very unusual character and I was dying to know what his secret was (It’s a good one!). Jessamine takes a strong liking to Weed and vice versa. Closer to the end of the story Jessamine grows ill and we meet Oleander, Prince of Poisons. This is when the story begins to jump back and forth between Jessamine’s dreaming state with Oleander and Weed’s thoughts throughout Jessamine’s illness. The ending was set up perfectly for a second installment!

I give The Poison Diaries (The Poison Diaries #1) 5 stars. Be sure to check back for my review of Nightshade (The Poison Diaries #2) coming soon.



Waiting on Wednesday: Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

My Pick:

Author: Bethany Griffin
Reading Level: 14 and Up
Release Date: April 24, 2012
Available: Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Summary (from goodreads): Everything is in ruins.

A devastating plague has decimated the population. And those who are left live in fear of catching it as the city crumbles to pieces around them.

So what does Araby Worth have to live for?

Nights in the Debauchery Club, beautiful dresses, glittery make-up . . . and tantalizing ways to forget it all.

But in the depths of the club—in the depths of her own despair—Araby will find more than oblivion. She will find Will, the terribly handsome proprietor of the club. And Elliott, the wickedly smart aristocrat. Neither boy is what he seems. Both have secrets. Everyone does.

And Araby may find something not just to live for, but to fight for—no matter what it costs her.